Sendai Framework

Sendai Framework for Disaster Risk Reduction 2015-2030

Sendai Framework

The Sendai Framework for Disaster Risk Reduction 2015-2030 was adopted by UN Member States

read more

Hyogo Framework

Hyogo Framework for Action (HFA)

Hyogo Framework

In January 2005, 168 Governments adopted a 10-year plan to make the world safer from natural hazards at the World Conference on Disaster Reduction, held in Kobe, Hyogo, Japan.
read more

PreventionWeb is a project of the UN Office for Disaster Risk Reduction (UNISDR)

PreventionWeb is a project of the UN Office for Disaster Risk Reduction (UNISDR)

What is disaster management?

The United Nations defines a disaster as a serious disruption of the functioning of a community or a society. Disasters involve widespread human, material, economic or environmental impacts, which exceed the ability of the affected community or society to cope using its own resources.

The Red Cross and Red Crescent societies define disaster management as the organisation and management of resources and responsibilities for dealing with all humanitarian aspects of emergencies, in particular preparedness, response and recovery in order to lessen the impact of disasters. Read More

Types of disasters

There is no country that is immune from disaster, though vulnerability to disaster varies. There are four main types of disaster.

Natural disasters: including floods, hurricanes, earthquakes and volcano eruptions that have immediate impacts on human health and secondary impacts causing further death and suffering from (for example) floods, landslides, fires, tsunamis.
Environmental emergencies: including technological or industrial accidents, usually involving the production, use or transportation of hazardous material, and occur where these materials are produced, used or transported, and forest fires caused by humans.Read More

Disaster prevention

These are activities designed to provide permanent protection from disasters. Not all disasters, particularly natural disasters, can be prevented, but the risk of loss of life and injury can be mitigated with good evacuation plans, environmental planning and design standards. In January 2005, 168 Governments adopted a 10-year global plan for natural disaster risk reduction called the Hyogo Framework. It offers guiding principles, priorities for action, and practical means for achieving disaster resilience for vulnerable communities.Read More

Asian Tsunami 2004 – SAARC Academia Marks 10th Anniversary

Disasters can occur anywhere, anytime, at any location, to any society. Asian Tsunami of 2004, is considered to be the most devastating disaster of modern more

The First Multiversity MDGs Scholarship Medal ‘KAKHTAH’ Hallmarked by the United Nations’ IDDR-IWSP Convergent Celebrations 2014, SAARC Leads the Convergent Observance.

UN IDDR-IWSP 2014’s Convergent Observance by UNESCO-SAARC Academic Alliance.
A cross-institutional and cross-disciplinary, research-based DRR scholarship medal, named KAKHTAH has been instituted for doctoral & post-doctoral research studies, in areas concerning disaster management & Post-HFA policy frame-workings in perspectives of the UN-MDGs. The revolutionary-edged medal has been posthumously named after the global humanitarians; Kofi Annan, Hellen Keller Intl., Tzu-chi and Aurangzeb Hafi, for their meritorious renderings during the relief works of Tsunami Asia-2004.
Joint Press Release: UNESCO-SAARC Academic Alliance, SAIRI, Uni-Twin.Read More